Kogarah

  • Banlieue:Kogarah
  • code postal:2217
  • Population:12,764
  • Municipalité:Kogarah Conseil municipal, Rockdale Conseil municipal
Kogarah est une banlieue du sud de Sydney et se trouve 14 kilomètres au sud du quartier central des affaires de Sydney. Kogarah est le centre administratif de la région du gouvernement local de la ville de Kogarah, même si une petite partie de la banlieue est situé dans la ville de Rockdale.

Kogarah par son nom de Kogarah Bay, une petite baie sur la rive nord de la rivière Georges. La banlieue origine étiré à la baie, mais a depuis été divisé pour former les banlieues séparées de Kogarah Bay et Beverley Parc.

Kogarah est un mot autochtone qui signifie "joncs" ou "lieu de roseaux". Il a été orthographié de plusieurs façons et l'orthographe actuelle a été adopté avec l'ouverture de la station de chemin de fer dans les années 1880.

Kogarah a un mélange de résidentiel, commercial and light industrial areas. Il est également connu pour son grand nombre d'écoles (y compris l'école primaire, l'école secondaire et l'enseignement supérieur) et des services de soins de santé (y compris deux hôpitaux et de nombreux centres médicaux).

Kogarah propose tous les types de développements résidentiels de faible densité maisons individuelles, à appartements de moyenne densité et haute densité de grande hauteur appartements.

Kogarah

  • Suburb:Kogarah
  • Postcode:2217
  • Population:12,764
  • Municipality:Kogarah City Council, Rockdale City Council
Kogarah is a suburb of southern Sydney and is located 14 kilometres south of the Sydney central business district. Kogarah is the administrative centre for the local government area of the City of Kogarah, although a small part of the suburb is located in the City of Rockdale.

Kogarah took its name from Kogarah Bay, a small bay on the northern shore of the Georges River. The suburb originally stretched to the bay but has since been divided up to form the separate suburbs of Kogarah Bay and Beverley Park.

Kogarah is an Aboriginal word meaning "rushes" or "place of reeds". It has been spelt in many ways and the present spelling was adopted with the opening of the railway station in the 1880s.

Kogarah has a mixture of residential, commercial and light industrial areas. It is also known for its large number of schools (including primary school, high school and tertiary education) and health care services (including two hospitals and many medical centres).

Kogarah features all types of residential developments from low density detached houses, to medium density flats and high density high-rise apartments.